Welcome!

21 Sep

Welcome to my blog!  I am brand new to the  blogging world and am excited to get my little corner of the internet up and running 🙂

I recently signed up for my very first marathon and toyed around with the idea of writing a training blog.  I liked the idea, but something was missing.  I even started a training blog, which you can read here: http://stephruns26.tumblr.com/.  As you can tell, I just really wasn’t feeling the sole focus on marathon training.  I started looking around for inspiration, and stumbled up on the fabulous world of healthy living blogs!  Blogs focused on fun, food and fitness?  Sign me up!  I spent some time absolutely pouring through some of the healthy living blogs out there, and quickly found myself flat-out obsessing over starting a blog of my own.  Once I get an idea in my head, I can’t let it go (this also happens to be how I ended up registered for the Big Sur Marathon, but that’s a story for another day).  And thus, “will run 4 treats” was born.  The name came to me as I was on my morning jog with my cutie-pie dog Izzie the other morning…

(This is my lovely little girl hoping and praying for a bite of a sweet and salty cookie during a recent hike.)  Izzie’s a great dog, but she can be stubborn.  She’s a coonhound and loooooves to follow her nose (i.e. incessantly sniff the ground and refuse to move when she hits an interesting scent), but she also as endless amounts of energy.  She can knock out runs easily…if she’s motivated.  I got to thinking of how to motivate her to move her butt with me and, as you may have guessed from the food-obsessed picture I posted above, I settled on the idea of bringing a pouch of treats along with me.  Surely, she’ll run for treats!  And then it hit me…that’s exactly what I do!

Don’t get me wrong – the feeling I get after a good workout is great.  But the idea that I can indulge in delicious dinners and desserts, while knowing that I am maintaining a healthy balance…that is really great!  So, after my quite long-winded introduction, welcome to “willrun4treats”…a blog about my daily fitness, food, and life adventures!  I hope you enjoy it 🙂

One Response to “Welcome!”

  1. Mr WordPress September 21, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

