When the cat’s away…

25 Sep

So here’s the deal: I have a playlist on my iPod titled “1997/1998”.  The playlist started as a compilation of songs that reminded me of these years in my life.  It very rapidly evolved into a whole-high school playlist, with songs that remind me of anywhere between 1997 and 2001.  Occasionally I get in the mood to listen to this playlist, which happened on my way home the other night.  Anytime I listen to it, a few things happen:

  1. I marvel at how many weird things my husband and I have in common.  We both have “the sunscreen song” (does anyone remember this?!) on our iPods…and did before we met.
  2. I fancy myself quite the rap star, and sing (loudly) along to songs such as DMX’s “Up in Here” and Ma$e’s “Feel So Good”.  I’m really good…in my head 🙂
  3. I get an intense desire to watch “Dawson’s Creek”.  Sarah McLachlan’s “I Don’t Want to Wait” is one of the first songs on the playlist, and it gets me every time.  Normally I resist the urge, since I’m pretty sure that Nick doesn’t want to watch Dawson’s Creek reruns.  But this time my playlist listening came at the perfect moment!  Nick is out of town for a bachelor party this weekend…and when the cat’s away, the mouse will watch Dawson’s Creek reruns 🙂
For dinner, I made myself a delish spaghetti squash with nutmeg browned butter sauce.
I had big plans to plate the “spaghetti” in the squash shell, but things got a little too messy for that 😦  Not the prettiest picture, but a tasty dish!  Just bake the squash at 375 for 1 hour, cool, slice and shred!  Brown some butter, add some nutmeg and presto!  Healthy, tasty dinner!
For dessert, half a slice of pumpkin cheesecake from the cheesecake factory (via B&N) with some fresh, very slightly sweetened,whipped cream!  O.M.G.  I forgot how good this cheesecake is!  Ahhh-mazing.
And for entertainment…Dawson’s Creek season 3.  I had to go with some Pacey/Joey action…had to!
Leave a Reply

