The Best Hand Cream

30 Sep

This morning was a sleepin in kinda morning.  Luckily for me, I had a very short commute this morning…straight from my living room into my “home office” 🙂  Sleeping until 7:30 felt great, especially since we’ve got a weekend full of semi-early mornings this weekend!  Once I finally dragged myself out of bed, I leashed up Iz and headed out on a 2 mile run.  It felt good to get outside, but it was cold.  About .1 mile into our run, my hands started to dry right up and my knuckles looked discouragingly close to cracking.  Winter is definitely coming 😦  Which means my new best friend is this fantabulous hand cream.

Since I was in high school, I’ve searched high and low for a hand cream that will actually keep my hands moisturized and stop the painful knuckle cracking.  This stuff is by far the best I’ve found.  It really works!  I remember once Oprah talked about the hallmark of a good hand cream: it stays put if you turn your hand upside down.

This stuff definitely fits the bill!

After my run, I did some strength work:

Squats + Lunges – 15 reps, 3 sets each

Deadlifts + Resistance Band Side Steps – 15 reps, 3 sets; 15 steps each direction, 3 sets, respectively

1 Minute Wall Sits + 1 Minute Planks – alternating, 3 times each.

In my past training endeavors, I have grossly neglected strength training.  This time, I am making a concerted effort to focus on increasing my strength and flexibility.  Over the next few months, I plan to build a good arsenal of strength training exercises to use once my marathon training is in full swing!

With shaking legs, I made myself a delicious bowl of pumpkin spice oatmeal (and pictured it with my b.e.a.utiful engraved vase).

I really can’t get enough pumpkin!  Happy Friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

