Holy Cannoli!

5 Oct

Cannolis are one of my favorite desserts of all time.  In fact, when I was in Collesano, Sicily last year, I made it my personal mission to eat a cannoli from a pastry shop on the main street.  The cannoli I had that day was rockin’, especially since I was eating it in my great-grandma’s hometown!

My favorite stateside cannolis come from the amazing Ferrara’s bakery & cafe in New York City.  Their cannolis (and all other pastries for that matter) are delicious, indulgent and addicting.  Luckily for my waist line, I live about 700 miles from Ferraras 😉

The base of most cannoli creams is ricotta (pronounced ri-guh-ta, not ri-cah-ta) and I just happen to have a tub of said cheese sitting in my fridge as we speak.  So, this afternoon, I decided to whip up a (healthy) pumpkin-cannoli-filling fruit dip.  Into the mix went:

1/4 cup low fat ricotta

1/4 cup canned pumpkin

Agave nectar to taste (I used about 1 tsp)

Sprinkle of cinnamon

Sprinkle of nutmeg

And a few chocolate chips for good measure

I paired my pumpkin cannoli dip with a freshly picked McIntosh apple.

Since I can’t get enough of fall flavors, I sprinkled the apple with even more cinnamon and  nutmeg.  The dip was delicious, and turned out to be a perfect mid-morning snack.

You could definitely pick up the ricotta flavor in the dip, which worked really well with the apple.  But I think you could also add slightly more sweetener and pumpkin to creamify it and enjoy with some cookies (i.e. Nilla Wafers) to really get that cannoli feel.

I also walked in on this a few minutes ago.  As stated in my previous post, it is pretty warm in Chicagoland today.  With all the windows open, Izzie has her choice of sunny spots in which to sleep.

Too bad she forgets to move when her body heats up too much.

So….Hot….

Izzie’s not the brightest crayon in the box, but she sure is fun to have around 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

