Play it cool boy, real cool.

5 Oct

This morning I was pleasantly surprised to find it quite mild outside.  I took Izzie for a 2 mile walk and was warm in shorts and a light jacket.  My kinda weather!  It’s supposed to be like this through the weekend, which makes me a very happy lady.  It almost makes me forget that I’ll be pulling out my enormous down jacket before I know it!

After our walk, I did 20 minutes of yoga following this video series.  Currently, none of the yoga classes at my gym fit into my schedule, and I am just plain intimidated by yoga studios!  I’m hoping I’ll have the opportunity to take some classes sooner rather than later, but for now this video does the trick.  It is relatively fast-paced and the moves are pretty basic.

After my 20 minutes of yoga, I did some strength training that looked like this. 15 reps, 3 sets each.

Superset 1: front shoulder raises, tricep dips

Superset 2: bicep curls, tricep extensions

Superset 3: upright rows, other shoulder move

Superset 4: wall sits, plank hold (1 minute each, alternating)

You may find examples of all of these exercises here.  I briefly contemplated posting pictures of myself, but I think it’s more productive to show a professional performing the moves.

When I finished up my workout, I whipped up a batch of warm chocolate oats using a packet of instant plain oatmeal and 2/3 cup of chocolate milk.  I added some chia seeds for volume, and once again topped with Kashi Go Lean Crisp.

Paired with a piping hot cup of green tea, this was a great little meal.

Glee-ful Tuesday Evening

Now that we’ve covered my exercise/nutrition for the morning, let’s talk about the fun stuff!  Last night’s episode of Glee!

I had high hopes for this episode, since I kept hearing it was critically acclaimed as the “best of the series”.  Boy, were they right!  What a fantastic episode.  I had a corny smile on my face nearly the entire time.  I loved the musical numbers as well as the story line, although I think sometimes they try too hard to create drama (i.e. between Mercedes and Rachel).  Let’s just stick to the music, ok guys?!

When the new season started a few weeks ago, I was thrilled to hear that they were considering putting on West Side Story for the school musical.  This is one of my absolute favorite musicals of all time, so I could not wait to see the Glee kids tackle some of the fun numbers.  So far, they have not disappointed!

Darren Criss singing something’s coming was the highlight of last week’s episode for me.

And Harry Shum Jr’s Cool  was simply amazing.  I love Mike Chang as a dancer, but he really rocked it with the singing in this number too!  It certainly doesn’t hurt that this is my favorite song from the musical 🙂

My only concern is that they won’t end up putting on the play, since they’ve already performed so many numbers.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they will!  Glee Side Story = perfection!

And now as I am enjoying my work from home with the West Side Story soundtrack, and other Broadway classics, courtesy of Spotify.  Great morning!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Play it cool boy, real cool.”

  1. Joyce October 5, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    This episode was great. I totally agree that ‘Cool’ was amazing.

Leave a Reply

