Every day I’m shufflin’

6 Oct

Today was another early morning!  This week has been pretty rough in terms of hours.  Early mornings + late nights = exhaustion!  Luckily, I was able to remove myself from bed at a reasonable time this morning in order to sneak in a quickie workout.  I walked in the door of the gym 5 minutes later than I did on Tuesday…and I had to leave the house 30 minutes earlier.  So, I jumped to it and completed this quick 25-minute treadmill workout.

When I started my workout I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do.  I knew I wanted to alternate 1-minute work and 1-minute easy, so I started off with a 6/8.5 alternating pace.  My legs were pretty tired, though, and I knew I needed to mix in some walking to keep them fresh during the sprints.

Taking walk breaks is actually encouraged by a lot of marathon coaches/training plans because you engage different muscles when walking vs. running.  Taking walk breaks helps your legs to conserve resources and fatigue more slowly.  Works for me!  To keep it challenging, I set the treadmill at an incline during the walk breaks.  Incline walking on a treadmill is  tough because you constantly feel like you are battling gravity.  Though I’m sure I looked like a crazy lady switching up the incline and speed so frequently, I felt like I got  a really great workout.

Once I was done, I hurried home, walked Izzie, scarfed down a bagel thin with pumpkin butter, and hustled out the door.

Thankfully, I had some free time in between appointments and was able to come home for lunch.  Once I got home, I snacked on some pretzels with Sabra hummus (aka the best store-bought hummus out there).

I was so hungry I probably could’ve just snacked my way through this entire container of hummus.  But I controlled my urges and made myself a grilled turkey and cheese sandwich instead.  I brushed each side of an everything bagel thin with olive oil, grilled on either side for a few minutes, and dug in.  On the side, I enjoyed an apple and some Kashi TLC crackers.

The sandwich was missing a little somethin’ somethin’ so I added some Tapatio hot sauce.

The sauce really amped up the flavor and heat!  And yes, that is RHWONJ in the background.  One of the perks of coming home for lunch?  Reality TV! 😉

Oh, and guess who else loves hot sauce?

Hot spray certainly wouldn’t keep this girl from chewing on the furniture!  Silly dog…

2 Responses to “Every day I’m shufflin’”

  1. Joyce October 7, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Is that a bagel chip?

  2. willrun4treats October 7, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    It is a Thomas’ bagel thin. It’s a regular bagel, with the middle taken out so it’s only 110 calories 🙂

Leave a Reply

