Sweet Summertime

7 Oct

Ok – a girl can wish, right?!  Seriously, this weather is amazing.  It feels just like the end of spring/beginning of summer out there!  Personally, I am choosing to believe that it is, in fact, the start of summer.  If I think it hard enough it’ll be true, right?  Right?!

Anyway – I woke up this morning with a pounding head and scratchy throat…yuck!  I was not feelin’ an early workout so I opted to stay in bed a little longer and will this oncoming cold to go away.  Once I did get up, I took Izzie for a 1-mile walk and completed the following strength workout.

All exercises were done superset style, with 15 reps/3 sets a piece.

Set 1: squats + lunges

Set 2: calf raises + resistance band side-steps

Set 3: heel slides + side lying hip adduction (<– gotta work those hips in prep for marathon training!)

Set 4: bridges + rose wall slide

1 minute wall sit

Once I finished up, I mixed myself a bowl of cereal for breakfast.  Because of the amazing warm weather, I was just not in the mood for hot oats.  We have a plethora of cereal varieties this week, so I decided to go for this mix:

1/4 cup each Honey Nut Cheerios, Raisin Bran Crunch, Kashi GoLean Crisp

1/2 cup Rice Chex

1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds

I also made myself a big mug of hot tea.  Here’s to hoping chunk honey has super-duper  healing powers!

See ya later, sore throat!  Now I’m off to start my Friday…with a little *NSync on the playlist 😉

(*Have I mentioned how much I love Spotify?  Cause I do.  It rocks!)

One Response to “Sweet Summertime”

  1. Joyce October 7, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Here’s hoping that weather will be in Jersey this weekend. Heading down the shore.

Leave a Reply

