Just as Important

12 Oct

Last night I did some poor planning with regard to my morning workout.  I planned on getting up and taking Izzie on a 3 mile run before my morning appointment.  What I didn’t plan on was it being so flippin’ dark this morning!  Seriously, when did that happen?!  Since I don’t feel 100% comfortable running in the dark around the city, I opted to skip this morning’s workout.  I figured I could just do a quick workout on my lunch break and between appointments.

I enjoyed this bowl of chocolatey pumpkin overnight oats, which I made last  night using:

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 cup chocolate soy milk

small scoop of canned pumpkin

sprinkle each of cinnamon and nutmeg

As you can see, this mixture was much creamier than my last batch of overnight oats.  That’s because I held off on adding my daily scoop of chia seeds until this morning.  I added the chia, let sit for 5 minutes, and ended up with this.

This bowl of oats really hit the spot this morning.  It was quick and easy and tasted kinda like my chocolate chip pumpkin bread!  Score!

I jumped on the coffee bandwagon again this morning and made myself a to-go cup.

When I arrived home for lunch this afternoon, I felt straight up exhausted.  I thought about heading out the door for a run, but in the end I decided not to.  If there’s one thing I learned this past year it’s that sometimes it’s just as important to listen to your body and let it rest as it is to get in your scheduled workout.

Here’s to hoping that tomorrow I’ll be feeling a bit better!

Now I am anxiously awaiting a very special delivery that should be arriving any minute 🙂

Leave a Reply

