New Oats

13 Oct

This morning was a dreary one here in Chicago.  I awoke to the sound of water outside, and cringed at the thought of going for a walk.  But, walk I did!  I took Iz for a quick walk around the block and then headed over to the gym.

I completed the following treadmill workout.

I really like this workout because I am running for the entire 20 minute interval period but still mixing in short spurts of “work”.  The pace slows for the first and last 5 minutes but I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…incline walking is no joke!  Phew!  By the end of this workout I was pooped, in the best way possible 🙂

When I got home, I also completed 3 sets of the following:

Heel slides, leg raises, 30-second plank holds

Once I was done with my workout, I got on to the good stuff…making breakfast!

One of the best things about discovering the healthy living blogging community is the plethora of oatmeal and pumpkin recipes that I have found.  Two of my favorite things revamped = awesome!

This morning I opted to make a pumpkin pie version of baked oatmeal, which I found on this blog.

The Recipe

1/2 c old fashioned oats

Splash of vanilla extract

Sprinkle of cinnamon + nutmeg

1/4 c water

1/4 c canned pumpkin

Drizzle of agave nectar

Mix all ingredients together and pour into a small baking dish.  Pre-heat oven to 370 and bake for 20 minutes.  Set to broil for last 3 minutes to crisp the top.

Because I didn’t have any ramekins of the right size, I decided to bake my mixture in a mini cast-iron skillet.  I loved the presentation.

The taste wasn’t too shabby either 😉  In fact, it was so good that I had a co-worker begging for some at my feet.

She’s too much.

Look how sad I look. Don't you want to give me some baked oatmeal? It's healthy, remember!

Now I’m off to get cracking on some work on this dreary almost Friday.

Leave a Reply

