Breakfast for Dinner

14 Oct

Boy am I glad it’s Friday night!  Nick is out of town this weekend to run the Detroit marathon with a few friends of his and, honestly, I am really looking forward to a weekend full of nothing but R&R.  The last few weekends have been chock full of activities and while I’ve had a great time doing everything from apple picking to marathon spectating, I feel like I haven’t had a whole lot of rest.  This weekend ought to take care of that!

When it came time for dinner tonight I knew I was not in the mood for a lot of cooking, but I didn’t have the slightest clue what I was in the mood for.  I think I spent about 20 minutes staring into the refrigerator and various cabinets with no success.  Finally I settled on a deep dish pizza that we’ve had in the freezer for a while.  It was easy, so it fit the bill.  I popped the pizza into the oven, and 20 minutes later I sat down to this.

Looks good, right?  Wrong.  This was arguably the worst frozen pizza I have ever had.  Can you see the neon yellow color on the interior of the crust?!  Well, that color made its way throughout the entire pizza.  I still tried a bite, just to be sure.  Believe it or not, the crust was dry and papery, despite the ridiculous butter color.  I decided pretty quickly to ditch the pizza and come up with a plan b.

Back to the kitchen I went to do a little more staring.  Eventually, I came up with the idea to do a remix of my favorite breakfast from our time in Chapel Hill.

One of the great little spots on Franklin Street, Ye Olde Waffle Shoppe, had a great little greek omelette that I just adored.  So, I pulled out some eggs, feta, red onion and tomato and got to work!

On the side, I made a Bisquick drop biscuit and some sweet potato oven fries.  I briefly considered making hash browns but decided that fries would be a-ok.  This was dinner, after all!

This meal came together in a flash once I got my head in the game.  I used one whole egg plus two egg whites to make the omelette.  It was nice and large without being too heavy.

The biscuit was great too – but you really can’t go wrong with Bisquick and milk!

My eyes were a little bigger than my stomach when I cut up my fries, so I went ahead and shared some with this girl.

They got the Izzie stamp of approval!  (This isn’t really saying much, but they were delicious!)  I love me some breakfast for dinner!

Now I’m just patting myself on the back for averting an unhealthy frozen pizza disaster, and am going to veg out in front of girly movies for the rest of the night!

Leave a Reply

