Christmas?!

14 Oct

Tonight was another late night for both me and Nick.  We planned on making one of our weeknight 15-minute staples with a veggie dish from our box of produce.

When I got home, we put together this topping to be put on two tilapia filets.

This recipe is one that we received a few years ago from Nick’s parents, and it originated in Cooking Light.  I have since started just eyeballing the ingredients, but if you want to give it a try for yourself, here are the actual measurements.

Ingredients

4oz low fat feta with basil and tomatoes

1/4 cup plain lo fat yogurt

1/4 cup chopped red onion

3 tbsp drained capers

2 small plum tomatoes seeded and chopped

2 tsp grated lemon peel

4 6oz tilapia fillets

Directions

Preheat oven to 400. Line baking sheet with foil. Spray foil

Combine first 6 ingredients in medium bowl. Season with pepper.

Arrange fish on foil. Spread cheese topping over fish.

 Bake until fish is just cooked, approx. 10 minutes.

This is a really simple recipe and it’s incredibly flavorful.  I typically substitue olive oil for yogurt, but both are good.

For our vegetable dish, we sauteed white radishes with onions and garlic, which were seasoned with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes.

We also enjoyed some white rice with butter, salt and garlic powder to top it all off.  This wasn’t the most colorful plating ever, but it was darn good!

And now on to more important things…

This afternoon, while I was enjoying my TV lunch, I saw my very first holiday commercial of the season.  At first I thought I must have misheard the commercial, but sure enough I soon saw Christmas ornaments and bows.  Seriously?!  I love the holidays as much as anyone else, but I feel like beginning holiday advertising on October 13 is a bit excessive.

Though…I certainly won’t complain if these start showing up on the shelves anytime soon.

(source)

 

Who could be annoyed by an early appearance of the most delicious chocolate candies ever?!  Not this girl.  ‘Til tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

