Energy Bars Galore!

16 Oct

Yesterday I was reading the latest issue of Women’s Health and came across a recipe for homemade energy bars.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at homemade bars for a while, and decided to give it a go this afternoon!  I decided to use the WH recipe as a general guideline, but ended up making several changes and adjustments.  I knew I wanted to incorporate chia seeds, which were not used in the WH version.  I also decided to use Agave Nectar as the sweetener (instead of brown sugar), and chose different nut/berry flavor combinations.  I opted to make two flavors: White Chocolate Macadamia and Dark Chocolate Cherry Almond.

The Recipes (Adapted from Women’s Health Magazine)

White Chocolate Macadamia

1 1/2 c old fashioned oats

4 tbsp chia seeds

1/4 c macadamia nuts, crushed

1/2 c low fat dry milk

1/4 baker’s bar white chocolate, chopped

1/2 c plain nonfat greek yogurt

2 tbsp agave nectar

1 egg, beaten

Dash cinnamon

Dash salt

Dark Chocolate Cherry Almond

2 c old fashioned oats

4 tbsp chia seeds

3 tbsp agave nectar

1/2 c low fat dry milk

1/4 c tart cherries, roughly chopped

1 oz (approx) almonds, crushed

1/4 bar dark chocolate, chopped

1/2 c nonfat greek yogurt

1 egg, beaten

Dash cinnamon

Dash salt

Instructions

Combine wet ingredients and set aside.  Combine dry ingredients, and add wet ingredients to the mixture.  Spray a brownie pan and spread combined mixture along bottom of pan.  Preheat oven to 350 and bake for approximately 20 minutes until firm.  Let cool completely and cut into equal portions.

For my White Chocolate Macadamia variety, I cut the finished product into 8 equal size bars.

I roughly calculated calorie count, and these come in around 170 calories per bar.

For the Dark Chocolate Cherry flavor, I cut the finished product into 12 (basically) equal size bars.

Again, I roughly calculated calorie count and these came in around 140 calories per bar.

I am super excited to have fresh, homemade energy bars on hand!  I love how dense these bars are and really feel that they will fill me up.  The chia seeds add a nice punch of protein and Omega-3, which is a great bonus.

These bars did turn out slightly less sweet than I would’ve liked.  I have some work to do tweaking them in the future, and will probably add either more Agave or some additional sweetener (such as Stevia) to try to get a sweeter result.  For now, they are delicious with just a bit more Agave nectar drizzled over the top 🙂

To celebrate my energy bar success, I am enjoying one of these and awaiting my slow cooker beef stew, which I prepared earlier today.

I am pretty sure Blue Moon’s fall seasonal did not used to include pumpkin.  Maybe I’m losing my mind, but either way this is really hitting the fall tastebud spot!

Now I’m off to enjoy the remainder of my weekend and welcome home my favorite marathoner!

2 Responses to “Energy Bars Galore!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Thing About Cooking on Sunday… « Will Run For Treats - October 18, 2011

    […] rest day this morning but was not glad to drag myself out of bed before 7.  Thankfully I had a dark chocolate cherry almond bar to get me going this […]

  2. Rizzuto « Will Run For Treats - October 26, 2011

    […] opted to sleep in a bit and ate a homemade chia bar on my way out to my first appointment.  I had a full day today, and lunch was enjoyed at Panera. […]

Leave a Reply

