Who run the world?

16 Oct

Last night I spent some time putting together a brand spankin’ new playlist for my workouts.  I was very excited to put it to good use this morning!

When I woke up, I checked out the Detroit Marathon Live Tracker app and saw that Nick was making great time!  After checking on his progress, I took Izzie out for a quick walk in the cold drizzle that settled over Chicago this morning.  Afterwards, I hit the gym.

I spent 30 minutes on the bike, completing an interval workout similar to this one:

I changed things up a bit by starting off with a 5 minute warm-up and cool-down period, both completed at a level 8 resistance.  I also “changed things up a bit” by zoning out and somehow completing exactly 20-minutes of 3-minute intervals.  How this happened I do not know.  Blame it on the new playlist – I was in the zone and most likely completed a 3-minute rest at some point.  Oh well.

After I was done with the bike, I hopped on my favorite running substitute!

The Octane elliptical machine.  As I said before, I really like this machine because it comes the closest to mimicking a running stride.  Make no mistake – spending weeks on this machine will not replace running.  But it’s a nice substitute when you want to go a little easy on your knees.

As an added bonus, this machine includes some muscle-targeting settings that I really enjoy.  I thought about completing an arm workout after my cardio this morning, but I was feeling a little lazy.  Instead, I decided to do a little interval work on the Octane, incorporating the “Arm Blaster” setting.

Essentially, the arm blaster bumps the resistance setting up a lot and instructs you to push and pull the handles for 10 seconds.  It’s tough and really gets my heart going!  I ended up completing 21 minutes of the following pattern:

2 minutes “running” (not holding handles)

1 minute “arm blaster” (repeating the 10 second blast 3x within the minute)

As I was nearing the end of my workout, I was starting to feel pretty pooped.  Luckily for me, my new playlist was in full gear!  Beyonce’s “Run the World” came on with about 5 minutes left and I instantly felt inspired and powerful.  I finished strong thanks to Ms. Sasha Fierce.

This afternoon I’m planning on doing some experimenting in the kitchen…I’m excited!

 

2 Responses to “Who run the world?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. November 2011 Blogger Sponsors | Healthy Living Blogs - November 1, 2011

    […] minted triathlete, aspiring marathoner, and self-proclaimed foodie, she enjoys blogging about her workouts, kitchen experiments with her husband, and various random interests.  Her blog also highlights her […]

  2. December 2011 Blogger Sponsors | Healthy Living Blogs - December 1, 2011

    […] minted triathlete, aspiring marathoner, and self-proclaimed foodie, she enjoys blogging about her workouts, kitchen experiments with her husband, and various random interests.  Her blog also highlights […]

Leave a Reply

