Rizzuto

26 Oct

Today was a particularly beautiful day here in Chicago.  It reached the mid-70s and the sun was bright!  The only problem with this sudden increase in temperature is that I’m pretty sure there was also some sort of atmospheric pressure change.  I woke up today to a pounding head and could not drag myself out of bed for an early morning gym trip.

I opted to sleep in a bit and ate a homemade chia bar on my way out to my first appointment.  I had a full day today, and lunch was enjoyed at Panera.  I hade a cup of french onion soup that was delicious!

(source)

I did not take this photo, but given the consistency at Panera, you get the drift.

When I got home I walked Izzie and did the 40-minute yoga video that is part of the XTreme Slimdown Challenge.  I really enjoyed this video – it was difficult, but not overly so, and focused a lot on stretching and breathing – which my head appreciated!  I had the window wide open while I was working out which felt great.  I’m pretending it’s going to stay like this forever…

For dinner tonight, I whipped up some crispy chicken with butternut squash risotto.  Nick and I have had a lone butternut squash sitting around for a while, and haven’t come up with a good way to use it.  I saw a recipe for a mock risotto on  Peanut Butter Fingers the other day and was inspired!

I opted to use a basic risotto recipe from Giada’s Everyday Italian cookbook and added in the butternut squash.

The Recipe

Heat 2 cups vegetable broth to simmer, and set aside – keeping warm.

Melt 1 Tbsp butter and toss in 1/2 white onion, chopped.  Saute until onion is soft.

Toss in 3/4 cup arborio rice and coat with butter.

Pour in 1/4 cup dry white whine and stir until absorbed.

Dump in peeled and cubed butternut squash.

Pour in the simmering broth 1/2 cup at a time, stirring after each addition until absorbed – about 20 minutes total.

When done, grate parmesan cheese over the top and stir.

The verdict?  Fabulous!

Giada’s recipe for basic risotto is a winner anyway, and the addition of the butternut squash really added a nice fall flavor.  We’ll definitley keep this one in the recipe rotation.

On another note – every single time I make, or even think of making, risotto I immediately think of Billy Madison – and I laugh.

(source)

I am well aware that risotto and Phil Rizzuto are two very different things.  But, seriously?  I love me some rirroto.  😉 

 

 

Leave a Reply

