Pumpkin Carving Fail

1 Nov

Tonight I carved my first ever pumpkin.  Before we get to that, though, I’d like to share tonight’s dinner.

Last night, Nick cooked up some chicken and cheese enchiladas from the Everyday Mexican cookbook.  They were delicious!

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – the best thing about cooking on Sunday is leftovers on Monday!   Dinner tonight came together in a snap and was just as good as it was last night!

Yum!

Because dinner was so quick, we had plenty of time to get carvin’.  I was quite ambitious for a first-time pumpkin carver (I know, Nick is incredibly surprised by this.  I’m not artistic!  I honestly never had the inclination to carve a pumpkin before.  Oh well.).  Anyway.  I decided to carve a pumpkin in honor of my favorite Halloween movie.

It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!  Seriously, who doesn’t love this movie?!  Nick warned me that I would need special pumpkin carving tools to create such an intricate design.  To this I said, pshhh.  Who needs special tools when you’ve got kitchen shears?

Before you get the wrong idea, we do own small paring knives, but we didn’t want to use our brand new knife set on pumpkins.  So, I went with the shears.

Nick got to work gutting our pumpkins, and Izzie stayed close by searching for seeds.

(I often think Izzie might sound like Chaz Reinhold were she a person).

After the pumpkins were gutted, we got to work.  At this point, I realized the error of my ways with regard to the kitchen shears.  I plowed through but eventually ended up with this mess.

Next time, I’ll get the special tools.

Nick’s turned out much better than mine!

Although my first pumpkin carving experience ended in a ruined pumpkin, I did enjoy it!  I’ll just be better prepared next year 😉

Even though we carved pumpkins tonight, Halloween wouldn’t be complete without copious amounts of sugar.  Luckily for us, Nick’s friends gave us some delicious Halloween cupcakes to enjoy this evening…

I’m about to go dive into mine!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Carving Fail”

  1. Heather November 1, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    i seem to have agreed with your copious amounts of sugar Halloween plan. Yesterday I managed to eat cupcakes for lunch. and for snack. I had 2 and a half cupcakes between the hours of 1 and 6 PM. [and they were delicious!]

    • willrun4treats November 1, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      Ha! Well, if ever there’s a day to eat 2 1/2 cupcakes, it’s Halloween, right?!

Leave a Reply

