Found It!

8 Nov

For the past few months I’ve been thinking a lot about what training plan I’ll follow for the marathon in April.

When I ran the half marathon last fall, I followed Hal Higdon’s novice plan.  I liked the plan, but I didn’t feel like I was as prepared as I could’ve been.  By mile 9, my hips were totally falling apart and my legs just felt rough.

(source)

I ended up with a pretty bad flare up of ITB Syndrome and was sidelined for months.  Then, when I did get back into running, I ended up with tendonitis in my thigh, which resulted in knee pain in my other knee.  This was incredibly frustrating!

During my injured period, I began training for a triathlon.  I really enjoyed triathlon training and felt like it kept my injuries mainly at bay.  So, I’ve been hoping to find a marathon training plan that would allow me more than one day of cross training.  I think this set up just works better for me.  I searched and searched, but couldn’t find anything…until the other day.

I stumbled upon the FIRST training plan, which only requires 3 days per week of running workouts.  I was intrigued, and after reading more about the program I decided this is the one for me!

The speeds and distances are faster and longer than other training plans, which makes me feel like I will be prepared.  But with only 3 days per week of running, I also feel that my legs will have enough rest and variety so as to reduce the risk of injury.  Here’s to hoping!

Since the plan starts at a higher mileage than I was initially planning on, I’ll be spending the next few weeks building up to a long run of 9 miles.  I also tried out the first speed workout this morning, to get a feel for where I’m at.

First, I had to look up how far 400 meters is 😉  Once I got it all figured out, I hopped on the treadmill and completed the following workout:

Walk at 4.0 pace for .1 mile

400m at 7.5 pace, .1 mile at 6.0 pace x3

400m at 7.5 pace, .1 mile at 4.0 x1

400m at 7.5 pace, .1 mile at 6.0 pace x2

400m at 7.5 pace, .1 mile at 4.0 x1

400m at 7.5 pace, .1 mile at 6.0 pace x1

Sprint at 8.0 pace for .1 mile

I ended up covering 3 miles in 27:30 – my fastest pace yet!

I enjoyed this workout, and am looking forward to the speed work included in this training plan!

When I got home, I iced my leg and rolled out the ball of my foot.  I wore heels to the wedding this weekend, which basically felt like this:

(source)

I never was the type to be able to handle wearing heels for long periods of time.  I’ll blame it on being such a tomboy growing up.  My feet were hurtin’ the past few days!

Luckily, I had this sitting in our freezer.

It is basically like a foam roller for your tootsies, and it felt Ah.Mazing.

You can’t get away with this in a regular office!

Now I’m off to power through this cold and dreary Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

