The Stew Room

10 Nov

Last Night

As I mentioned yesterday, I prepared a slow cooker beef stew for dinner.  The stew came out great, except it needed more salt – something of a trend with my stews.  This time, I feel like I dumped salt in the mix, but I guess I overestimated the amount I used!  Anyway, yesterday I decided to make a Guinness stew.

To make the stew, I adapted this recipe.

Directions:

Heat about 2.5 Tbsp oil in a pan, and toss in 2lb stew meat, cubed.  Brown meat and place in slow cooker.

Place 1 onion (chopped), 2 garlic cloves (chopped) and 1Tsp each rosemary and thyme into pan; cook until onions are soft.

Pour into slow cooker.

Pour in 1/2 c beef stock and 1c Guinness Stout; cover with chopped carrots(2), potatoes (2), and mushrooms.

Cook on high for 5 hours – and enjoy!

Get ready for your house to smell divine!!

After enjoying our stew, Nick and I settled in to watch the next episode of Top Chef.  I was excited to see the chefs “on the bubble” compete for the final spots!  Although I didn’t really care for Ed when he laughed at the cruise ship chef, I was quite impressed when he continued to cook with one hand as the medics bandaged his other hand!  It was in stark contrast to cry-baby Jamie from the “All-Stars” season:

 

 

(source)

Because of his determination and overall toughness, I was happy to see him get a blue jacket.  I also really like Grayson, and am glad she got a spot.  Especially since the weirdo butcher is the one who messed up her first dish anyway!  Once again, I am really looking forward to this season!

This Morning

Today I hit the treadmill for a 3 mile run.  I ran at an 8:57 pace and felt tired but great at the end!  When I got home, I enjoyed a bowl of Honey Sunshine with chia seeds and chocolate soy milk.

Then, disaster struck.  My internet decided to quit working.  I spent way too much time on the phone with Comcast, and ultimately had to drive over there to get a new modem.  It brought back memories of when I had to make three trips to the Comcast store in Chapel Hill when a certain someone decided remotes were a good chew toy.

Thankfully my internet appears to be working properly now – so I am off to get crankin’ on work!

Leave a Reply

