This Happened

11 Nov

This morning I woke up bright and early to get in a swim before my first appointment.

I haven’t been in the pool since my triathlon, which was at the end of July.  It was nice to get back in there!  I really enjoy swimming on days when I want to work out but I want to give my legs a bit of a rest.

The only downside of my swim this morning was that I misread the group exercise schedule, and thought the masters swim class wouldn’t be meeting until 7:30.  Unfortunately for me, they were actually meeting at 6:00, which was right at the very end of my swim.  I ended up cutting my swim 1 lap short (I swam 3/4 mile – 1 lap) because I always feel rushed when this class is getting ready to meet, especially when I am in one of the center lanes – as I was today.  Let’s just say these folks could stand to learn a little something from this guy:

(source)

I’m mainly kidding about this, and wanted any excuse to put this adorable picture up (a scene that I’m sure I will never see in this house).  In reality, the people attending the masters practice are nothing but friendly – it’s my own discomfort that makes me feel like I need to clear out of their way STAT when they enter the pool.

My real beef is with the new gym owners.  There is a masters swim class every weekday morning.  I feel like they’ve got to give some options to the people, like me, who don’t want to swim in a group!  Oh, well.

The real story of the day is that I was greeted with this when I got in my car:

The first ice warning of the year.  It just got real up in here!  I am so not looking forward to the day when that number is 34 degrees less than it was today…

At least it’s Friday!  A few more hours of work, then on to the weekend!

 

2 Responses to “This Happened”

  1. Mary November 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    If it makes you feel any better, the cold night shelters opening
    Tonight! Where do we live?????

  2. willrun4treats November 12, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    I can’t believe it! Sorry we brought the cold to you!

Leave a Reply

