Love Happy Endings!

17 Nov

Last night, I enjoyed North Carolina-style pulled pork for the third night in a row.  I think I could eat this for weeks.  That’s how good it is.  Last night, I decided to slice up a potato to make some baked fries with olive oil, sea salt and black pepper.

The fries came out super tasty and went really well with my tangy pork sandwich.  Yum!

After dinner, I spent more than 3 hours reading a book by my new favorite author, Diane Chamberlain.  I’ve now read two of her books within the last week – The Shadow Wife and The Midwife’s Confession.  Nick always teases me for reading “romance novels” (ahem, the genre is called Chick Lit, thank you very much).  Though I do often see his point, these books were much deeper than my typical chicklit fare.  They also both had an air of mystery to them, which I really enjoyed.  I definitely recommend checking them out!

This morning I woke up with a stomach ache and sore throat.  The joys of working with children in the winter!  I opted to skip a workout and took Izzie for a quick walk around the block instead.  On our walk, we saw Max, an old friend of Izzie’s.  Max used to hang out in his yard in the mornings, and he and Izzie would play feverishly throug the fence.  Then one day last year, Max went missing.  The fence to his yard often popped open and I guess he wandered off during one of these instances.  I felt so sorry for the family, and even a little sorry for Izzie losing her friend.  Over the past few months, I’ve thought that I saw someone walking Max but was never 100% sure.  Today, though, I saw his owner bringing him into his house – yeah!  I was so happy to have confirmation that they found him 🙂 I just love a happy ending, especially when it involves pets!

When I got home, I forced myself to eat a bagel thin with some jelly and had a giant mug of steaming tea with honey.

Ok, sore throat.  You can leave now.

Leave a Reply

