It’s Friday, Friday!

2 Dec

Woohoo!  Finally, Friday afternoon has arrived!  Seriously, I have been ready for today since Monday.

I had a morning appointment today so I had to be out of the house by 7:45.  I think having a deadline, such as I must leave my house by 7:45 or I will be speeding and trying to “sneak through” red lights, thereby giving myself intense anxiety really helps me get my butt moving in the mornings.  Normally, when I don’t have to leave my house until, say 2:00, I snooze my alarm about a million times and think “I’ll work out at (insert future time here)”.  But today, knowing that I had to be moving by a certain time, I was out of bed by a little after 6 and on the treadmill before 6:30.  I wanted to incorporate some speed work into a total run of 4 miles, so I completed the following workout.

I followed the guidelines in my marathon training plan and did a 10 minute warmup, followed by 6×400 repeats.  I finished up with a pretty speedy mile (for me) and ended up completing 4 miles in 35:30.  As a typical slow poke, I was really excited about this time!  I also felt like I could easily have kept running for at least a few more miles.  I used to scoff at people who ran their 20 miler and then said “I easily could run 6 more”.  Puh-lease, I used to think.  But now?  Who knows.  Maybe that’ll be me 🙂

My Baby Girl

In July I took Izzie in to get her teeth cleaned, which required anaesthesia.  Before they cleaned her teeth, I received a phone call letting me know that one of her liver enzymes was slightly elevated.  The vet told me it wasn’t anything to be too concerned about, but he’d like to check it again in 4 months to make sure that it didn’t remain elevated.  I immediately went into panic mode and searched for causes of elevated liver enzymes.  I found many causes, one of which was being overweight.  Uh oh.  So, starting in July, Izzie went on a diet.  I bought her all natural food and became strict with myself about following the feeding guidelines.

Over time, I felt like she was starting to look better and Nick agreed.  Still, when I got the call a few weeks ago that it was time to repeat her bloodwork, I was nervous.  Partly, I didn’t really want to get scolded about her weight again.  But mainly, I didn’t want to hear that her enzymes were still out of whack.  So, when I took her in yesterday I was thrilled to learn that she had lost 12 pounds.  She is currently at about the weight that she was when I adopted her, and she really does look healthier.

It was a blessing in disguise that I had an early appointment today, because it prevented me from obsessing over what the results of the bloodwork would be.  Thankfully, I heard from the vet right after my meeting and my baby girl’s enzyme levels are right smack in the middle of the normal range 🙂  As it turns out, the enzyme that was elevated is non-specific, meaning that it binds to many different receptors, not just those in the liver (my background in neuroscience/pharmacology really came in handy when I heard that fact).  An elevation in this specific enzyme can be related to liver disease, but can also be related to stress, hormone fluctuations, and other things.   I have no idea if her weight was at all related, but now she’s a skinny minny healthy girl!

And since I got home, I have been smothering her with kisses and hugs, and letting her sleep on our bed (sorry Nick!)

This last picture was taken this morning, but it was too cute not to share.  Plus, she’s back up there now so it gets the point across.

Lunch

Lunch today was a normal every day breakfast.  Oatmeal with chia, peanut butter and banana – with the rest of the banana and some more peanut butter on the side.

It was quick and filling, and just what I needed to get through to the weekend!  Happy Friday!

One Response to “It’s Friday, Friday!”

  1. Joyce December 2, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I think Izzie deserves a peanut butter cookie for all her hard work.

Leave a Reply

