The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap

12 Dec

 

As you all know, I recently participated in The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!

 

I had so much fun participating in this swap, and definitely recommend to anyone who may be interested in joining in next year!

As soon as I signed up, I started to think about what cookies I wanted to bake to send out to my matches.  There are so many great Christmas cookie recipes out there to choose from!  Ultimately, I ended up deciding on my all-time favorites – cream cheese sugar cookies shaped like Christmas trees.

My parents have made these cookies every Christmas for as long as I can remember.  They bring back such great memories of tasting dough,  pressing out cute little Christmas trees, and putting together a plate for Santa to enjoy after his trip down our chimney.  To me, this is what Christmas is all about.  Fun family memories.  So, although these are not the most creative cookies ever made, they were the perfect cookies for the swap!

Ingredients

2 1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 cup butter

3 oz. cream cheese

1 cup sugar

1 egg yolk

1 tsp. vanilla

Directions

Pour yourself a big old glass of wine, light up your Christmas tree, and put on some holiday tunes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that you are in the holiday spirit, you can get to baking!

Assemble all ingredients and cream together butter and sugar.

Add the egg and vanilla and mix well.

Add cream cheese.

Add dry ingredients until incorporated.

Place dough into cookie press using a festive shape, such as a wreath or Christmas tree, and press shapes onto cookie sheet.

Dust with colorful sprinkles, if desired, and bake at 350* for 15 minutes or until golden around the edges.

These are the perfect little bite sized cookies, and the cream cheese really makes them moist and gives them a little extra somethin’ somethin’.

Once my cookies were all baked, I got to work packaging them up to send out to my matches: Teresa, Sarah, and Amira and Casey.

Since I’m slightly obsessed with all things Southern, I decided to package my cookies in mason jars.

Then the treats were in the mail and on their way across the country!

What a great kickoff to the holiday season!  Ladies, I hope you enjoyed eating your cookies as much as I enjoyed making them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

