Keep It Up, Chicago!

15 Dec

Something strange has been happening in Chicago the past few days.  It’s been 50 degrees!  In December!  I know this probably means that winter will extend through June or something, but for now I am celebrating 🙂

Although it was warm yesterday, it was incredibly rainy and gray.  On my drive home all I could think about was soup, so I stopped off at Panera and picked up some creamy tomato soup to satisfy my craving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those cheesy croutons are the best!  I actually announced last night that this is my new favorite tomato soup.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever tried it before, but it is really tasty.  It has a little bit of a kick to it, and has the perfect balance of creaminess and tomato-ness.  Thanks for a good dinner, Panera!

This morning when I woke up and saw that it was still 50 degrees, I knew I had to take Izzie for a run.  It was the first (and probably last) run in a while that I didn’t have to completely bundle up for, and it was glorious.  We ended up going for a short 2 mile loop, and I didn’t cramp up once.  Maybe this means I need to eat creamy tomato soup before every run?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My running partnah is the best!  Except for one teeny tiny thing.  Remember a few weeks ago when I was super excited that there were treats left out on a doorstep during our run?  Well, now Izzie feels the need to dart and pull in an attempt to drag me across the street to where the treats once were.  Fantastic.  Looks like I’ll be filling my Spibelt with treats from here on out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How I wish I could lay down and sleep for the rest of the day after a morning workout.  But, alas, I was not born into the life of luxury that Izzie was.  (As a side note, I am apparently incapable of looking at the camera instead of at my hand when taking a self picture with my iPhone.  I’ll need to practice that).

Anyway, as Izzie slumbered peacefully on the couch, I continued my workout with the following circuit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wanted to do some exercises that are good for building “explosive power”, so I threw together the above sequence and completed it 3 times.  I remembered reading a while back that froggers are good for runners, since they work on outer hip strength and flexibility.  I’m sure I looked just gorgeous when I was doing these.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsOlMBzKYsM

I really need to work on leg and hip strength in the coming months, so hopefully some of these exercises will be beneficial.

Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

