Big Girls Don’t Cry

3 Jan

This morning I slept a little later than I have been recently, since I didn’t have a morning appointment.  It was nice not to have to get up super early, and still be able to get a nice workout in!  I went back and forth about what I wanted to do on the treadmill today, but I ended up deciding to do a little mashup of speed and hill work.  It is going to be so important to get my legs used to hills in these next few months.  I’m sure the treadmill isn’t the best way to do this, but it’s all I’ve got here in Chicago, so I’ll have to take what I can get 🙂

This is what my workout looked like:

 

 

 

 

 

The repeats were done in sets – so, .25 fast with .1 recovery, repeated 3 times.  After 3 speed reps, I did 3 speed/hill reps.  Running at an 8:30 pace on an incline is no joke!  My legs were screaming by the end of this workout, but it felt really great!

When I got home, I was greeted with this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have the weirdest dog ever.  She pulled my sweatpants, which I had ditched after our walk this morning, onto the couch and curled up on them and a teeny tiny pillow.  I guess our couch is just not comfy enough for this princess!

Now I am workin’ my way through Tuesday, while listening to the Jersey Boys soundtrack.  When we were in New Jersey for Christmas, my parents surprised us with tickets to go see the show.  I swear I had the biggest grin on my face the entire time.  This was one of the best shows I have ever seen, and was just so much fun!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(source) 

For those who don’t know, Jersey Boys tells the story of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons through their music.  The group started in New Jersey (because that’s where all the best people are from, obvi), and it was really interesting to learn more about how they formed and ultimately disbanded.   And now I have another soundtrack to add to my “Broadway” playlist on Spotify 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

