WIAW (What I Actually Ate on Tuesday)

11 Jan

Marathon

As I’ve mentioned before, my training plan only includes 3 days per week of running.  I decided to try this plan because I really worry about overuse injuries, which I have suffered from in the past, and I like the idea of only running the amount that I need to run and not completely exhausting my joints.

However, an important aspect of this plan is that it includes 2 days of cross training – of your choice – that needs to be done at high intensity.  To this point, my cross training has been pretty easy going, but since this is the first official week of training I knew I had to push it a little this morning.

I headed over to the gym and decided to bike for my cross training today.  I biked for 45 minutes, keeping at least 98 rpms, which had me sweating but not really breathing too heavy.  I tried the heart rate monitor on the bike a few times, but I honestly think it was way off.  It told me my heart rate right when I started was 118, which I’m pretty sure was inaccurate.  So, I may need to invest in a heart rate monitor to make sure that my cross training is effective!

Eats

It’s time for another installment of What I Ate Wednesday!  I only had one appointment yesterday, so I was able to eat almost all of my meals at home.

Breakfast was a cereal mashup, including chex, multigrain cheerios, oatmeal squares and chia seeds.  All topped off with almond milk – my new favorite milk substitute!  Morning Snack consisted of a banana with peanut butter and a clementine.  Love getting that fruit in first thing in the morning!  Lunch was kind of thrown together at the last minute.  I intended to have a salad before heading off to my afternoon appointment, but I ended up having more work to do than I anticipated so that plan was nixed.  Instead, I enjoyed some carrots and tomatoes dipped in roasted garlic hummus.  I finally bought the family size hummus, so this will last me at least a week 😉  I wasn’t 100% full after the veggies and hummus, so I also ate 1/2 a Clif Builder’s bar, which had some nice staying power.  I love me some tasy protein bars…especially when they taste like a peanut butter candy bar.  Afternoon Snack was freshly popped white popcorn with salt and garlic powder.  If you don’t already pop your own popcorn at home, you should.  It is so much tastier than pre-packaged or microwave popcorn.  And it’s super easy!  Just throw a little olive oil in a pan, let it heat up, toss in your popcorn and you’re good to go!  Dinner was a hot bowl of escarole soup (recipe to come!) and an unpictured biscuit.  Dessert followed closely behind, and consisted of cookies and cream ice cream and a snickerdoodle cookie.  I can’t seem to get past the holiday sweets cravings!  Hopefully they will subside soon 🙂

And there you have it.  A day of quick, easy foods.  Happy Wednesday!

5 Responses to “WIAW (What I Actually Ate on Tuesday)”

  1. Laura January 11, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Your training sounds very similar to mine… I cut back to 3 days of running after some shin stress this summer, and I’ve been enjoying adding in more cross training. Have you tried spin classes? Depending on the instructor, they can definitely be intense! Your food looks great! I’m having trouble getting past the holiday sugar cravings, too. 🙂

    • willrun4treats January 12, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      I haven’t tried a spin class yet, but it is definitely on my list of things to mix in while training! Everything I’ve heard is that they can be a really great workout 🙂

  2. caloricandcrazy January 12, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    I LOVE builder’s bars! =)

  3. Jessica January 12, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Slow churned ice cream is the best! My favorite is mint chocolate chip 🙂

Leave a Reply

