WIAW {What I Ate With a Cold}

18 Jan

Marathon

Today turned into another unplanned rest day thanks to this awful head cold I’ve got.  My head has been so stuffed up it’s insane!  Pretty much the only thing that’s helped is steaming hot tea – thus why I am on my third cup this morning.

 I’ve also been downing fruit and vitamins like it’s my job.  Healing foods, do your thang!

Time for another addition of What I Ate Wednesday!  I have to say, I really enjoy this particular “link party”, since it allows me to share my eats without photographing my food every day.  Let’s face it…no one wants to see the same bowl of oatmeal every single morning!  Yesterday I wasn’t feeling too hot, so my meals and snacks had to be quick and easy.

Here’s the breakdown!

Breakfast was a simple bowl of Kashi GoLean Crunch with chia seeds and almond milk.  I was out the door in two shakes of a lamb’s tail, and had a busy morning so I didn’t get a chance to enjoy a snack.  I was starrrving by the time lunch rolled around!

For lunch I enjoyed a hummus, olives, tomato and marinated feta sandwich on a multigrain sandwich thin.  If you’ve never had marinated feta before, you must!  Specifically, look for a goat/sheep’s milk blend.  You won’t be disappointed!  I also had a small bowl of  honey mustard and onion pretzel nuggets.

When snack time approached, I mixed up a pretty ugly looking mug of peanut butter, banana, and oatmeal squares.  The peanut butter and banana combination is always a winner, and the addition of the crunchy oatmeal squares added the perfect texture.  Don’t let the picture fool you – this was a delightful snack!  I also munched on a few handfuls of GoLean Crunch and dried mangoes (unpictured) throughout the day.

Dinner consisted of homemade pizza (dough recipe to follow), with caramelized onions and turkey pepperoni.  Homemade pizzas are super quick and easy – and healthier than store-bought since you have 100% control of what goes on top!

For dessert I could not resist Valentine’s Day Peeps.  Do you see how big that marshmallow is?!  I was in heaven.  I also enjoyed a few Dove chocolate hearts on the side before downing Theraflu and hitting the hay.

Homemade Pizza Dough (adapted from Emeril Lagasse)

The Ingredients

1 Cup Warm (100*) Water

1 Packet Active Dry Yeast

Overflowing 1 Tbsp EVOO

1 Tsp Salt

1 Tsp Sugar

3 Cups Flour

How to Make It

Place warm water and yeast in a bowl.  Let sit for 3 minutes.

Whisk yeast until thoroughly mixed.  Add olive oil and whisk some more.

Add 1.5 cups flour + salt + sugar and mix together.

Slowly add additional flour until incorporated.

Remove dough from bowl and knead 3 minutes on floured surface.

Place in bowl coated with olive oil, cover, and let stand for 1.5 hours.

Makes 2 good-size pizzas.

Extra Notes

When you add the salt and sugar, you can also add additional flavors – garlic powder, rosemary, cayenne – go crazy!

Once the dough is rolled out on a pizza pan, place in very hot oven (the hottest you can get it) until it starts to bubble.  Remove from oven and put on toppings, returning to the oven to finish cooking.  This leaves you with a nice crispy crust!

Enjoy!

Happy Wednesday!

2 Responses to “WIAW {What I Ate With a Cold}”

  1. Jessica January 20, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    The marshmallow heart looks so delicious! I love all the cute holiday Peeps that available now!

Leave a Reply

