Long, Hard Run

22 Jan

Saturday

Yesterday, I completed a 12 mile run indoors due to all of the snow that we got on Friday.  I felt confident going into the run, since my 10 miler on the treadmill went pretty well last week.  This week, though?  The treadmill was basically a torture chamber.

 

 

While I was running, I got to thinking about my training plan.  I often wonder how beneficial the shorter speed workouts are for marathon training.  However, after yesterday’s run, I’ve discovered that they are very important.  Since I was sick this week, I skipped both of my running workouts, and I think this definitely played a role in how rough I was feeling throughout the long run.  Hopefully I’ll stay healthy for the next few months and won’t have to skip too many more!

I also had some weird muscle cramping right in the arch of my foot yesterday.  It was something I’ve never experienced before, and really freaked me out – thoughts of plantar fasciitis immediately came to my head.  Thankfully, after doing some reading, it doesn’t sound like my symptoms are similar to those of plantar fasciitis.  Since I was taking so much cold medicine this week, my body was a bit dehydrated, and I’m thinking that contributed to some muscle cramping.  At least I’m hoping that’s all it was!

After I finished my run, I came home and immediately curled up with my favorite warm pillow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My torturous run was all but forgotten!  Nick and I had a relaxing remainder of our Saturday, and enjoyed some delicious Indian food while watching Moneyball last night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(source)

I didn’t know anything about this movie before we sat down to watch it, and I was pleasantly surprised with how good it was.  I found the premise to be really interesting – Jonah Hill’s character develops an analytical model for baseball team building, and Brad Pitt’s character uses this model to build the Oakland A’s into a record-setting team.  Moral of the story?  It pays to be nerdy!

Sunday

This morning I slept in and enjoyed a nice cup of tea in bed before taking Izzie for a quick walk.  When I got home, I did a Tabata-style workout, comprised of the following moves:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tabata training is a type of high intensity interval training that involves short bursts of work followed by short periods of rest.  I used an online Tabata Timer, and did 30 seconds of work with 15 seconds of rest for each move listed above.  I repeated the Tabata 3 times and was completely pooped by the end of it.  I wrapped up my workout with some stretching to loosen up my hips and hamstrings after yesterday’s long run.

Now I’m off to enjoy my Sunday!

2 Responses to “Long, Hard Run”

  1. Brigid @ Live Breathe Huzzah! January 23, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    That is just the cutest picture of you and your pup. I pinned it 🙂
    I can’t even imagine running 12 miles on a treadmill. I top out at 5 or 6 on the mill. Don’t beat yourself up about it. You get sick, things happen 🙂 Rest up and get better!

    • willrun4treats January 24, 2012 at 2:40 am #

      Thanks! I know, I don’t know what I was thinking running that far on the treadmill! I’ll be sticking to outdoors barring any blizzards in the near future 🙂

Leave a Reply

