V-Day

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s day is always such a big deal when you’re single, but once you’re married (and your husband’s birthday is the day before), you kinda forget all about it.  As I was out getting last minute gifts for Nick’s birthday on Saturday, I also picked up a Valentine’s Day card, assuming that I would finally get him something without getting something in return.

*Nick and I started dating about a month before his birthday and V-Day.  I was so uncomfortable and had no idea what we should be doing – if anything – and when Nick invited me over for dinner, I accepted with relief.  What I didn’t expect was for him to get me a card and a small gift, while I arrived empty handed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He has still not let me live this down.

So I was really hopeful that this was my year!

But then, this happened:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks a lot for being thoughtful and sending me flowers, Nick.  You ruined my year 😉

Beanie loves the flowers because he can play with all the leaves.  And Izzie loves the paper they were wrapped in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of Izzie.  When I was at the store the other day refilling her high-end, all-natural food (only the best for my princess!), I picked up a special treat for her to enjoy during our Valentine’s celebration on Sunday night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The whoopie pie was for us, and the frosted heart cookie was all Izzie’s.  I think this is the biggest treat we’ve ever given her, and she could barely contain herself!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What a fun love-day celebration!

Marathon

This morning, I had a speed workout on my schedule.  I’m still a little iffy on doing speedwork, since my biggest issue with my foot came after a sprint with Iz.  So, instead of speed intervals I decided to do hill intervals.

I ran at a 9:50 pace, and did 4×1200 repeats at a 3% incline.  The incline wasn’t too difficult, but was enough to let me know that I was working a little extra hard to get those miles done.  With quarter mile 0% incline “rests” in between, I ended up covering 4 miles in a little under 40 minutes.  Not too shabby!

Now it’s time to work, and cross my fingers that we get to spring soon.  I’m over the cold, darkness of winter…especially now that all the fun winter holidays are over!

Leave a Reply

