All About the Pets

15 Feb

Nick was out of town for work last night, so I had a fill-in bed mate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please note: I did not stage this photo.  My dog independently tucked herself in under the covers and placed her head on the pillow like a human.  Nick’s pillow.  I bet he’s thrilled.

Anyway, after I died laughing at her sleeping position, I got to thinking about my morning workout.  I had a cross training day on my schedule, but couldn’t figure out what I wanted to do.  I briefly thought about riding the bike, but my legs were ever-so-slightly sore from yesterday’s “hill” run, and I want to conserve my leg strength for the end of this week.  Since I didn’t feel like going to the gym, I opted for an at-home workout.

I’m always chilly in the mornings, and decided that it would be amazing to work out in front of the fireplace.  So, after I walked Izzie I got the fire going and prepped myself for a workout.  I started with some intense foam rolling.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And very quickly, my morning workout became all about the pets.

Izzie didn’t like that I was hogging the good spot, so she kicked me out of the way.  I finished rolling out away from the fire so the princess could properly warm her butt.

Then, Izzie was displaced by Beanie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She wasn’t thrilled about being relegated to her bed, so she tried to claim her spot back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then this happened.

 

had to take a video of this for two reasons: 1) It was the cutest thing I’ve ever seen the two of them do and 2) Beanie pretends that he hates Izzie when Nick is around.  Beanie was Nick’s, while Izzie was mine, before the two of us met.  Beanie tries to save face when Nick is around and doesn’t like to be caught cuddling with his “annoying” little sis.

His “nudges” are his #1 main way of saying “I Love You”, so I think it’s safe to say that he and Iz are best buds.  Sorry for outing you, Beanie!

Even with all the interruptions for picture taking, video taking, and laughs, I actually felt like I got a pretty good workout in this morning.

I rolled my legs out hard for about 20 minutes, focusing on each area (IT Band, quads, hamstrings, calves) for 2 minutes each, per leg.

Then, I completed the following workout:

50 Crunches

40 Side Leg Lifts

30 Alternating Bicep Curls

20 Tricep Dips

10 Pushups

Repeat: 3 times.

I felt great once I was done!  I hope you’ve enjoyed this pet-centric post.  Check back later for a new WIAW!

2 Responses to “All About the Pets”

  1. Brigid February 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Ha! My dogs tuck themselves in like that too. I swear they think they’re people. The difference is that my dogs are less than 20 lbs…

    • willrun4treats February 16, 2012 at 2:33 am #

      Yes, I am lucky enough to have a 60 pound dog who thinks she’s a person. Sometimes I wish I had her life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

