WIAW – Valentine’s Day Style

15 Feb

 

 

 

 

Time for another WIAW!

As I mentioned earlier, Nick was travelling yesterday, which left me to celebrate V-Day single girl style!

For breakfast, I enjoyed a bowl of raisin bran crunch + chia seeds with almond milk.  Alongside my cereal, I incorporated some fruit in the form of a clementine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I totally forgot about a mid-morning snack, since I was so busy earnin’ that paycheck!  I also ate an early lunch so I could get out the door by noon, so the lack of snack wasn’t too horrible.  My lunch was possibly the best completely thrown together hodgepodge of leftovers that I’ve ever had.

 

 

 

 

 

 

As part of our Valentine’s Day meal on Sunday, Nick and I had some chickpea bruscetta from Mario Battali’s cookbook.  The bruschetta includes chickpeas, oil, balsamic, garlic, onions, basil and olive paste.  It’s delicious!  We had some of the topping leftover, as well as some plain couscous from our Monday night dinner.  So, I slightly warmed the couscous and mixed in the bruschetta topping.*  On the side, I added some pita chips and hummus to make myself a mediterranean plate.  It was filling, delicious, and quick.  Just the way I like it!

I was driving around for the rest of the afternoon, so my snack consisted of a Honey Stinger Waffle and some of my favorite almonds ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am really not a huge almond fan, but I love this flavor!  They taste like an indulgent snack, but are (relatively) healthy and filling!

Even with my mid-day snack, I was pretty starved by the time I got home.  I quickly sauteed some cauliflower with oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder.  To go with my veggies (it is love your veggies month, afterall!), I cooked some penne and a roll.  I mixed the penne and cauliflower together with some store-bought pesto and voila!  A delicious, nutritious dinner was done in no time.  Of course, I had to sprinkle some freshly grated cheese on top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After dinner, I enjoyed a small cup of cheerios, peanut butter and chocolate chips.

And, of course, I had to end my night with some wine and chocolate.  It was Valentine’s Day Tuesday, afterall!

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I enjoyed my dinner and dessert alongside the Beverly Hills housewives for their reunion part 3.  I can’t, for the life of me, understand why they required a 3 hour reunion special, but I enjoyed every second of it!  And for this reason, I can assure you that Nick was happy to be celebrating Valentine’s Day elsewhere 🙂

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday afternoon!  This week is absolutely flying by, and I’ve got tons to do.  Off to cross things off my list!

Leave a Reply

