Marathon Breakdown Numero Uno

17 Feb

One runner, on the verge of a massive breakdown.  In fair Chicago, where we lay our scene…

Last Night

Last night I had big plans.  My training plan calls for 15 miles this weekend, and I got it in my head that I was going to knock that out before work this morning.  I had good reason for this, I assure you.  We have a late reservation at Girl & The Goat tonight and I anticipate eating a lot of unhealthy food as well as imbibing in a few adult beverages.  I figured it would make sense to get my long run out of the way before this, since I’m pretty sure fried chickpea fritters and 5 beers aren’t the best pre-run fuel.

So, I filled my water bottle and placed it in the fridge.  I arranged both indoor and outdoor running gear in the bathroom.  I developed a plan.  I’d rise before the sun and bang out 6 miles on the treadmill.  Then, I’d come home and grab Izzie for a 3 mile loop before finishing off my 15 on the lakefront.

Alarm set for 5:00, I went to bed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When my alarm went off, I immediately reset it for 6:30.  My brilliant plan suddenly didn’t seem so brilliant, and I figured I’d just run a quick 5 this morning and cool it on the beers later tonight.

This Morning

By the time 7:00 rolled around, I was up, dressed, and prepping for my run.  I was super excited to break in my new Garmin watch and headed out the door with a positive outlook.  Satellites located, I took off running jogging and promptly realized that I had forgotten my iPod.  Fail #1.  How am I supposed to run without my beloved Pauly D?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(source)

Still feeling pretty positive, I continued along.  Oh yeah, running yeah!

Then, I was stopped by Izzie who decided she needed to eat some grass.  Once I got her moving again, I looked down at my watch and realized that I hadn’t started the timer.  Fail #2.

Assuming I was about .1 mile into my run, I started the timer and kept plugging.  Izzie was kind enough to stop and sniff several more times, and my watch was never able to pick back up.  Fail #3.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you kidding me?!?!  I was fuming by the time my 1-mile dog loop ended.  I wasn’t too thrilled with Izzie, and I definitely wasn’t happy that my $250 watch told me my average pace was 25 minute miles.

I dropped Izzie off at home, and Nick was lucky enough to be on the receiving end of the start of my breakdown.

After a few minutes of irrational venting about the pace calculator on my watch, I headed back out to finish whatever I possibly could of this godforsaken run.

I ran 2 more miles, but my foot started to hurt a little bit so I threw in the towel.  When I got home, I was in an even worse mood and hat a flat-out breakdown over the watch the fact that I’m running 26.2 miles in approximately 10 weeks and I could barely make it through 3 without injuring someone today.

I’d like to say this is the last time this will  happen, but I’m sure it won’t be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

(source)

At least it’s Friday.  I’ll be sticking to wine tonight, and am hopeful that green beans doused in butter are in fact good pre-run fuel.

Check ya later!

Leave a Reply

