Fat is Flavor: A Running Mantra?

18 Feb

Dinner

Last  night, Nick and I joined two friends for dinner at Girl & the Goat.  We’ve already made reservations for our next visit in May 🙂  The food at this place is so delicious, and it turns out green beans actually are a relatively good pre-run food.

Though the veg dishes are always top on my list, one of the highlights of our meal last night was a pork shank with kimchi.  Fat is flavor!!  Since we’d already had a few drinks by the time we had this dish, Nick and I decided it would be a great idea to ask for the bone to be wrapped up for Izzie.  The waitress let us know that this is actually a pretty common request, and she was more than happy to comply.

I hope you enjoy the following photos as much as I do:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Usually Beanie is pretty discerning with people food and spends an exorbitant amount of time sniffing out what we give him before eating it.  I think he assumes we are trying to poison him.  But he went completely nuts for this bone!  As did Izzie, of course.  The two of them were practically fighting over who would get the next lick.  Yet more proof that fat is flavor!

Running Mantras

There have been several bloggers recently who’ve been talking about running mantras.  One of my favorites came from Brigid’s blog: “Run the mile you’re in“.  I’ve been using this recently, since I tend to think only about how much longer I have to go, and really need to focus on staying in the moment.  However, inspired by delicious pork, Nick introduced me to my new favorite running mantra yesterday:

“Run like a pork shoulder: low long and slow”.  This might not be the best mantra for someone who is planning on racing, but for someone like me who just wants to finish, long and slow is the name of the game.  I also like this mantra because it cracks me up every time I think of it, which helps when you’re running into the wind on a 30 degree day in Chicago.

Training

This morning’s run was OK, but not nearly as good as I hoped it would be.  I made it 9 miles no problem – I was actually feeling pretty fantastic, and thought I’d have no problem knocking out 15 easy-peasy.  However, my right knee gave out right around the 9 mile mark, and my run was over at that moment.  Luckily for me I was 6 miles from home, so I started the long cold walk back.

I’ve been beating myself up a little bit, because this one was all my fault.  My knee gave me this same sort of trouble about a year ago when I was diagnosed with tendonitis in my right thigh.  Ever since then, I’ve diligently rolled my leg out before every run.  Except today.  I don’t know why I got lazy this morning, but I didn’t roll out, and my run suffered.  However, I’m choosing to look at the fact that I had a great 9 miles as a positive thing.

Plus, I learned my lesson, the foam roller and I will be best buds once again.

For now, Ibuprofen and an ice pack are where it’s at.  Have a great Saturday!

 

One Response to “Fat is Flavor: A Running Mantra?”

  1. Brigid @ Live Breathe Huzzah! February 20, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    Thanks for the shout out! I like your pork inspired version too. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

