One of “Those People”

3 Mar

I am officially one of “those people”.

Those people who I used to roll my eyes at.

Those people who I used to tease mercilessly.

Those people who I just didn’t understand.

Those people who were out running at 9:00 on a Saturday morning.

Those people who were out running at 9:00 on a Saturday morning when it was 30 degrees and snowing.

Those people who were out running at 9:00 on a Saturday morning when it was 30 deegrees and snowing, with 25 mph winds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I logged a little over 10 freezing cold miles this morning without any knee or foot pain.  Success!  I kept things pretty slow, although my total time does include potty breaks for Izzie, who accompanied me on the first 2 miles, as well as traffic light breaks to and from the lakefront.  I think I ran at somewhere between a 10:00 – 10:30 pace, which is fine by me.

The wind was out of control this morning, and I honestly don’t think I’ve ever worked as hard as I did in the last 1.5 miles of my run.  It was rough!  My compression sleeves are definitely my best friends today.

Now I’m off to do some errands and relax!  Have a wonderful Saturday!

2 Responses to “One of “Those People””

  1. Maggie March 3, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    I know what you mean! I’m one of those people too, and I never thought I would be! My local running group normally meets on Saturdays at 7 or 7:30am. At first I said “heck no” and just slept in and did my long runs solo. But now they’ve sucked me in and I find myself going to bed early on Friday night so I can meet them. But I’m glad I do, the runs are so much more fun!

    • willrun4treats March 6, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      I think I’d still be in the “heck no” category for 7:00 on a Saturday! But I can definitely see where running with a group would make it worth it – long solo runs can get pretty rough 🙂

Leave a Reply

