Fingers Crossed

15 Mar

Marathon

I had an early appointment this morning, which required me to be out of the house by 7:30.  This meant a 6 mile run before sunrise now that it’s daylight savings time.  I’m not entirely comfortable running by myself in the dark, so I decided to run the first 4 miles at the gym.

I started out on the indoor track, since I have been trying to avoid the treadmill recently.  I have a nagging suspicion that the ‘mill played at least a part in my recent string of injuries, and I’d prefer to keep myself injury free.  However, running around an indoor track is the most boring thing you can possibly imagine.  After a mile, I threw in the towel and succumbed to the television entertainment that the treadmill could offer me.

I definitely won’t be making a return to the treadmill for long runs, but I figured 3 miles would be OK.  Thankfully Flipping Out kept me entertained, and I didn’t exprience any foot or knee pain.

Once I finished the boring part of my run, I ran home (literally), grabbed Izzie, and headed out for the last 2 miles.  It was another gorgeous morning here in Chicago and the run positively flew by!

Lunch

I had a break between my appointments today, so I came home for lunch and grilled myself a spicy italian turkey sausage.  Now, I don’t grill, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I didn’t undercook the turkey and give myself food poisoning.  I guess time will tell.  But taste-wise, my lunch was fantastic!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grilled sausage on a sandwich thin, with a drizzling of EVOO and some tortilla chips.  I enjoyed my lunch outside in the sunshine, which made it all that much better!

Now it’s off to finish up Thursday.

Leave a Reply

